( oh what do I spy? )

( yes, I do spy! )

( nicely labelled for later consumption – thank you mom!! )

I’ve never tried soy nog! Or any nog, for that matter. This should be good, I even have a little bit of whiskey with me – people do that, right? Mix whiskey with nog? Anyway, I bet it’ll taste good.

I haven’t been cooking so much, at least nothing that exciting. Mostly bean dips and soups for the family (really wishing I had my gluten flour around so I could show them something cool), but I’m looking forward to more creative opportunities over the vacation. Even if we’re kinda low on supplies, I’m sure I can whip up at least a few batches of cupcakes, and maybe Dreena’s chickpea tart for christmas. I was going to make a tofurkey, but it depends how many vegetarians come for dinner (and seriously, I’ll be happy with stuffing and a little pumpkin pie – the 2 parts of holiday feasting I can’t get any other time).

Also, with access to cable I’ve been watching the Food network a lot, and getting slowly disenchanted with it all. It’s not so much that it’s a bad little network, but damn that’s a lot of olive oil being thrown around, not to mention the TOTAL celebritification of all their non-chefs – like today I saw that both Paula and Rayray have their own holiday magazines!! Holy overkill.

(I still love Good Eats though, and Bobby Flay, and okay so I have a kind of sick fascination with Paula Deen. She drinks butter! :D )

