Wowee, I actually splurged and got myself a new repository of recipeeeez, hurray. I decided on Jae Steele‘s book, Get It Ripe, mostly because of how healthy and easy it all looked, and it seemed perfect now that school’s started to keep my time in the kitchen to a relaxed minimum.
(also, she’s a local gal who runs between montreal and toronto a lot, and also – Aux Vivres restaurant recipes, like the Millet & Mushroom Tortiere? Yes, please!)

First up, and so far my fave – Baked Barbecue Tofu with mushrooms and green peppers. SO more-ish (spicy, tomato-y, nutty!), and it takes all of 3 minutes to throw together. And excellent cold the next day.

The lentil dhal was also a winner! It should be with red lentils, for the record – I only had brown. But still very very delicious. (I added a bit of EB, for that ghee kinda taste, and slathered it on rice cakes for the next few days – amazing!)

I had slightly less luck with the baked goods… the gingerbread had a wonderful flavour, but was so delicate, I had to handle it with surgeon’s care to get every pillow-soft crumb into my mouth!

And the infamous flax-maple cookies were less like shortbread and more like biscuits, but once I wrapped my head around their less-sweet character, I realized they really were a lovely after-school teatime snack. And SO simple to throw together, I probably stood in front of a bowl for a minute and half, threw the pretty coins in the oven for another few minutes and cookie-baking time was over. So really, perfect for september! And also – very healthy! Win-win.

There’s also a million awesome pages of baking tips, health information, cooking charts and personable advice, so there’s that going for it, too. Oh, and beautiful pictures. It’s a really cute book! And I definitely know where I’ll be going for dinner ideas when I’m in a rush. :)

